The Sounds of Shakespeare

Saturday 20th May 2023, 7.30pm

West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge

Tchaikovsky Hamlet Overture
Shostakovich Hamlet Suite
Tchaikovsky Fantasy Overture to Romeo & Juliet
Bernstein Symphonic Dances from ‘West Side Story’

Actor Anna Tolputt
Conductor Lucy Hollins
Cambridge Philharmonic Orchestra

Our Principal Guest Conductor Lucy Hollins leads the orchestra through a programme of Shakespearean adaptations, accompanied by excerpts from some of the Bard’s most beloved plays.

Tchaikovsky’s Hamlet Overture and Shostakovich’s Hamlet Suite paint the twists and turns of Shakespeare’s tragedy in two contrasting musical landscapes. Tchaikovsky’s overture sears with a brooding intensity reminiscent of the Fifth Symphony, whilst Shostakovich’s film score – here in the form of an eight-movement suite – brings a visceral modernity to the drama. Something is indeed rotten in the state of Denmark…

In the second half, Tchaikovsky’s high Romanticism combines with Leonard Bernstein’s jazz-infused Broadway sound-world in differing musical depictions of Romeo and Juliet. Whilst the Russian composer seeks to depict old Verona in the opening chorale, Bernstein transplants the story into 1950s New York, with ground-breaking results.

Tickets: From £15. Discounts available for Students & Under 18s

Please note that tickets are purchased on a non-refundable basis.

TICKETS WILL REMAIN ON SALE UNTIL MIDNIGHT ON THE 19th May 2023. At this point any remaining tickets will only be available ‘on the door’ – Cash or card accepted. Please email to check availability.

Access: The building is fully accessible to wheelchair users, with ramps and accessible toilet facilities. Click HERE to find out more.

If you require a free carer’s ticket or have additional access requirements, please get in touch